TENNESSEE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION HOUSE OF DELEGATES

May 22, 2021

RESOLUTION OF COMMENDATION

INTRODUCED BY: BOARD OF TRUSTEES

TIMOTHY WILSON, MD, CHAIR

SUBJECT: RECOGNITION OF NASHVILLE ACADEMY OF MEDICINE'S

BICENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY

Whereas, Two hundred years ago, on March 5, 1821, the first medical society in the state of Tennessee was founded in Nashville, by seven physicians in the log courthouse on the Public Square; and

Whereas, This organization later took the name the Nashville Medical Society, and the first president was Dr. Felix Robertson, who was elected Mayor of Nashville in 1818 and again in 1827, and who was the third president of the Medical Society of Tennessee from 1834-1840 and again from 1853-1855; and

Whereas, The first secretary was Dr. James Roane, and the other five included Drs. Boyd McNairy, A.G. Goodlett, James Overton, John Waters, and R.A. Higginbotham, and their goal was to establish a society for doctors who had been formally trained in medical schools and to improve the health of the people of Middle Tennessee; and

Whereas, In 1830, Dr. James Roane from Nashville became the first president of the Medical Society of Tennessee, which is now the Tennessee Medical Association, and 79 of the 151 statewide charter members were from Middle Tennessee and three of the five inaugural officers were from Nashville, and "after thanking the Medical Society of Nashville for the accommodations that it had afforded to the state society, the new-born Medical Society of Tennessee adjourned;" and

Whereas, The Tennessee Medical Association would like to recognize the following charter members of the Medical Society of Tennessee from Davidson County: Dr. Samuel Hogg, Dr. James Roane, Dr. Felix Robertson, Dr. R.A. Higginbotham, Dr. Boyd McNairy, Dr. James M. Walker, Dr. Charles Pugsley, Dr. John Waters, Dr. John Maxey, and Dr. James Overton; and

Whereas, the Nashville Medical Society, already rich in history and service, was chartered on September 4, 1906, by the state of Tennessee as the "Nashville Academy of Medicine & Davidson County Medical Society," the name which it still bears today; and

Whereas,

The Tennessee Medical Association is honored to have had 46 members serve as TMA president from the Nashville Academy of Medicine in the past 191 years including: James Roane, MD; Felix Robertson, MD; Samuel Hogg, MD; A.H. Buchanan, MD; John M. Watson, MD; John P. Ford, MD; Charles K. Winston, MD; Robert Martin, MD; J.D. Winston, MD; Joseph E. Manlove, MD; Paul F. Eve, MD; W.F. Glenn, MD; Thomas L. Maddin, MD; W.T. Briggs, MD; Duncan Eve, MD; Giles C. Savage, MD; Deering J. Roberts, MD; A.B. Cooke, MD; John A. Witherspoon, MD; W.D. Haggard, MD; Charles N. Cowden, MD; H.M. Tigert, MD; W.C. Dixon, MD; Robert Cardwell, MD; J.O Manier, MD; L.W. Edwards, MD; O.N. Bryan, MD; C.M. Hamilton, MD; Nat S. Shofner, MD; Daugh W. Smith, MD; Charles C. Trabue, MD; James C. Gardner, MD; William O. Vaughan, MD; Rudolph H. Kampmeir, MD; Tom E. Nesbitt, MD; O. Morse Kochtitzky, MD; J. Kelley Avery, MD; Gordon Peerman, Jr., MD; James W. Hays, MD; George W. Holcomb, Jr., MD; John B. Thomison, MD; Howard L. Salyer, MD; R. Benton Adkins, Jr., MD; Barrett Rosen, MD; F. Michael Minch, MD; and M. Kevin Smith, MD; and

Whereas,

TMA also commends the eight members of the Nashville Academy of Medicine and Tennessee Medical Association who have served as president of the American Medical Association, the most AMA presidents to come from any one city in the country, including: Paul F. Eve, MD (1867), William K. Bowling, MD (1875), William T. Briggs, MD (1891), John A. Witherspoon, MD (1913), William D. Haggard, MD (1925), H.H. Shoulders, MD (1946), Olin West, MD (1948), and Tom E. Nesbitt, Sr., MD (1978); and

Whereas,

Throughout the past 200 years, the physicians of Nashville have advocated for cleaner water, safer sewers, vaccinations, improved medical treatments and surgical techniques, and for those who needed medical care; they fought epidemics of cholera, yellow fever, influenza, and now COVID-19; they endured the Civil War and led in the Civil Rights Movement, built hospitals and clinics, taught the next generations of physicians at Vanderbilt and Meharry medical schools, and throughout it all, they consistently recommended improvements and standards in medicine, to improve the health of all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED,

That on this day, May 22, 2021, the House of Delegates of the Tennessee Medical Association hereby honors and commends the Nashville Academy of Medicine and its members, both past and present, for their leadership within the Tennessee Medical Association and their tireless dedication to the medical profession and congratulate them on the celebration of the association's bicentennial anniversary.