1821 Society

The 1821 Society is an exclusive society, created during the Bicentennial Anniversary of the Nashville Academy of Medicine, to recognize current and former members and leaders from the Nashville Academy of Medicine or Medical Foundation of Nashville.  Any current or former member of the Nashville Academy of Medicine or community member who served in a leadership role supporting Project Access Nashville and the Medical Foundation of Nashville is eligible for this society. Leadership roles may include officers, board members, committee chairs, and executive staff leadership. This level may also be purchased by a family in honor of a member who served in one of these roles who has passed away.

• Two tickets to the gala event in fall 2021
• Two tickets to any other anniversary related celebration in 2021
• Special designation at event as an 1821 Society member
• Premier seating at event
• Name listed on event website
• Name listed on printed program
• Name listed on signage at event
• Name listed on signage to remain at NAM offices after event.
• Preview of items if there is a Silent Auction
• One copy of commemorative book

Current Members of the 1821 Society:
Dr. Michael Beckham and Brenda Beckham
Dr. David Duong and Mr. David Matthews
Rebecca Leslie and Brett Leslie
Dr. Christopher Ott and Mr. Jeremy Simons
Dr. Adrian Rodriguez
Dr. Jule West and Mr. David West

History: The first medical association in Tennessee, was founded in Nashville on March 5, 1821, by seven physicians in the log courthouse on the Public Square. The organization took the name "The Nashville Medical Society." The first president was Dr. Felix Robertson, who was elected Mayor of Nashville in 1827. The first secretary was Dr. James Roane, and the other five included Drs. Boyd McNairy, A.G. Goodlett, James Overton, John Waters, and R.A. Higginbotham.  Dr. Robertson, Dr. Roane, and others were instrumental in the 1830 founding of the Medical Society of Tennessee, which changed its name to the Tennessee Medical Association.  The Nashville Academy of Medicine is proud to have had 47 presidents of the Tennessee Medical Association, and eight presidents of the American Medical Association – more than any other city.

Contribution: $1,821 tax-deductible donation to the Medical Foundation of Nashville, the nonprofit charity organization founded by the Nashville Academy of Medicine.

Payment Options

Scroll to Top